Patience is a virtue, honey…

There are many times in my life where I have had to learn patience. It’s something we all have to learn. Some of us get it right off the bat, and others… well… maybe they just don’t get it. I have always considered myself a patient person, but some things are just really hard to be patient for.

Back in college, Ben had convinced me to play a video game. Of all things, we were playing Disney’s Toy Story game. We played a two player part of the game, so we were working together to accomplish a goal. In one section of the game, you had several obstacles to get through, including these walls of electricity that only stayed off for a mere few seconds. Ben kept getting so frustrated because he could not get past this one part. He told me to wait to move until he accomplished this part of the game, and he kept trying and trying, to no avail. He got shocked over and over again. Every. Single. Time. Might I mention, he rushed through it every time. He would run when, really, he should have taken his time and been more careful. Finally, after what seemed like 30 minutes had gone by, I waltzed right through the difficult part on the game, taking my time. One slow step at a time. No shocking for me. He looked at me with this unbelievably hilarious look of “oh crap I cannot believe you just did that the first time you tried”, to which I responded “Patience is a virtue, honey!” and basked in my victory.

He was not a happy camper. I, on the other hand, was crying I was laughing so hard.

As silly as it sounds, sometimes we have to do the same in life. Right now, there are several things we are waiting for answers on from the Lord. Really important things that we have been praying for, for a very long time. Things that have caused disagreements. Things that show uncertainty in our fairly near future. Things that take a lot of PATIENCE.

In the midst of everything this world has going on, sometimes we are called to stand still and wait. Psalm 27:14 says “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” Not only that, but we are also called to be doing things that please the Lord in the process of waiting, and to be at peace. 2 Peter 3:14 says “Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these, be diligent to be found by him without spot or blemish, and at peace.” It doesn’t matter how long it takes. And do you know why we can have peace in a season of waiting? Because the author of time holds our situation in His sweet, holy hands.

So, that being said, we are striving to be at peace with our time of waiting. We are continuing to pray for guidance.

We are trying not to get shocked.

But we know the Lord is good. Our prayer is to be more and more like Psalms 130:5-6 says: “I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning.”

We will keep you updated with our exciting/patience-testing things coming up in the near future as they happen! 🙂 Stay tuned for less vague excitement! Thank you to all of those who keep up with us. We truly appreciate you! Love to all!

-Lindsey

Leave a Reply

