Saturday Morning Blessings

Saturdays are one of my favorite days of the week. Although between our busy schedules (Ben coaching, my weekend classes, etc.) we do not get many Saturday mornings together, I love when we get to wake up without an alarm. I never thought about how fun a Saturday could be from start to finish with Ben before we got married. Now, I love lazily waking up and rolling over and talking as we try to manage to get out of our comfy, warm bed.

Ben loves cooking breakfast. Not so much dinner, but breakfast is his specialty. That being said, I usually get a fresh cup of coffee and home-made something. He sometimes even brings me breakfast in bed! Today, it was pancakes (or as we like to say from one of our favorite movies, Panclarkes. That’s from 50 First Dates if you don’t know.), a cup of coffee, and a husband covered in flour for a good laugh. I have also been eating next to the sweet yellow flowers I was brought last week.

Saturday morning blessings.
Saturday morning blessings.

Sometimes we don’t take the chance to slow down. Saturday mornings that my¬† husband and I spend together let us do just that. We can talk about things that do not revolve around our week, that don’t revolve around work or school or whatever. We can just be together. That is why I love Saturdays so much.

Don’t get me wrong, we always have something to do on Saturdays. Grocery shopping. Homework (LOTS of that today). Cleaning. But whatever we do, it always seems to be just a little bit better knowing we are together and don’t have to be on a time schedule.

It is so important for us to slow down sometimes, and stop with all the things that carry the weight of “having to be done by this time” and “if I don’t get it done everything will fall to pieces”. Sometimes we go and go and go so much, that we are missing out on the little joys and blessings that life brings.

Have you ever heard the old song “Come thou Fount of Every Blessing”? It goes like this: Come, thou Fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing thy grace. Streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise…. Jesus sought me when a stranger, wandering from the fold of God; He to rescue me from danger, interposed His precious blood.”

Friends, we are so so blessed. We have a roof over our heads. Shoes on our feet. Loved ones who take care of us. And a Heavenly Father who adores us.

Take time to slow down and remember your blessings today. Spend time with people who you miss. Love on each other! We only have so much time in this beautiful world and it shouldn’t always be spent watching the clock and running a million miles an hour.

Psalm 16:5-6 “LORD, You are my portion and my cup of blessing; You hold my future. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.”

Much love!

-Lindsey

Leave a Reply

